Key to the Classroom 2022

  • SSD's teaching staff is widely known to be among the best in our state. Their dedication to our students is extraordinary and the collective impact of their expertise is evident in our students' success.

    The Key to the Classroom award celebrates the profound effect these teachers have had on the lives of their students and colleagues, as noted in their nominations submitted by SSD families, colleagues, and community members. Each nomination was carefully considered by a judging panel of SSD administrators. These 10 outstanding educators were then given the opportunity to be considered as candidates for SSD's Teacher of the Year. 

    Congratulations to this year's Key to the Classroom award winners and our Teacher of the Year!

SSD's 2022 Teacher of the Year

  • We are proud to announce that Missy Leibbrandt has been selected as SSD’s 2022 Teacher of the Year! Leibbrandt is a special education teacher at Claymont Elementary in the Parkway School District and is known for her whole child approach to her students and consistently going above and beyond in her support of them. A dedicated team player and communicator, she commits time to collaborating with her students’ general education teachers and ensures her families are updated frequently, comprehensively, and in a caring and personal style. Her reputation as an outstanding educator was evident in the many positive comments shared about her by her colleagues, her nominator, and the parents and students she serves.

    Learn more about Missy, her dedication to students, and her surprise announcement of 2022 Teacher of the Year.


    "Missy is passionate about inclusion and a master of engagement. She combines compassion, empathy, high expectations, and realistic goals to set up students for success. She seems to have an endless supply of strategies and resources in her pocket! While this alone is impressive, what really sets Missy apart is her understanding of exactly what works for each individual student. There is nothing "one size fits all" about her approach to student learning. She has a keen knack for identifying hurdles (whether academic, social, or emotional) and providing just the right amount of support."

    - Leibbrant's nominator

Key to the Classroom Winners

  • Kim Brandt

    Russell Elementary

    Hazelwood School District

  • Marie DeProspero

    Eureka High

    Rockwood School District

  • Deb Jost

    VSP Mercy

    Special School District

  • Liam Briick

    Brentwood Middle

    Brentwood School District

  • Melissa Duke

    Bayless Elementary

    Bayless School District

  • Katie Reeves

    Horton Watkins High

    Ladue School District

  • Amy Bryant

    MRH High

    MRH School District

  • Megan Holzum

    Glasgow Elementary

    Riverview School District

  • Ellie White

    Ladue Early Childhood

    Ladue School District