Partners for Student Success Careers  /  Staff Directory  /  Staff Login  /  Frontline
Special School District of St. Louis County

Goodman, Riggs elected
to SSD Board of Education

Two candidates who were elected to seats on the Special School District of St. Louis County’s Board of Education were sworn in and seated at the Board’s March 10, 2015, meeting.

Those elected to the Board are:
  • Incumbent Jan Goodman has served on the Board for nine years and represents Subdistrict 6, which includes Clayton, Normandy, Ritenour and University City school districts. She is an active volunteer in the Clayton School District and serves as a District liaison to the Special Education Foundation. Her previous business experience includes serving as vice president of marketing for Ralston Purina.
  • Douglas Riggs represents Subdistrict 5, which covers the Brentwood, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Maplewood-Richmond Heights, Valley Park and Webster Groves school districts. He was appointed in 2010 to the executive committee of the Missouri Developmental Disabilities Council. Riggs has chaired the Kirkwood School District Parent Advisory Council since 2006, and served on several committees hosted by SSD on topics such as inclusion and transition.

After the Board members were sworn in, election of officers was held. Dan Cuneo (Subdistrict 2 – Affton, Bayless, Hancock Place and Mehlville school districts) was elected Board president; Jan Goodman (Subdistrict 6 – Clayton, Normandy, Ritenour and University City school districts) was elected Board vice president; and John Koeper (Subdistrict 4 – Ferguson-Florissant, Pattonville and Riverview Gardens school districts) was elected Board secretary.

With the passage of Proposition S in 1998, SSD Board of Education members are interviewed and elected by the District's Governing Council. The Governing Council is comprised of one Board of Education representative from each of the 22 school districts in St. Louis County.

The SSD Governing Council elected the Board of Education members at its meeting on March 2, 2015.

Goodman was unopposed. Riggs faced incumbent Marilyn Stewart, who had served on the Board since 2000. Goodman and Riggs were elected to three-year terms.
SSD Fast Facts
Contact SSD  /  Accessibility  /  RFPs  /  Public Notices  /  Site Map   /  E-news

12110 Clayton Rd, Town & Country, MO 63131  /  314.989.8100  /  314.989.8552 – 711 (Missouri Relay)

Special School District of St. Louis County (SSD) is a leader in providing special education services to students with disabilities and also provides a wide range of career and technical education programs.
SSD logo
Twitter Facebook
Translate this site:
Complete a survey about today's website visit