Return to Headlines

SSD Elects Incumbents Cuneo and Asner

SSD Elect Incumbent Cuneo and Asner March 15, 2023 - At the March 6 Governing Council meeting, two incumbent members were re-elected to the SSD Board of Education. Dr. Daniel Cuneo and Dr. Yuval Asner were sworn in for their new three-year terms during the March 14 Board of Education organizational meeting. Due to an impasse, a special election will be held for the Subdistrict 1 seat at the June 5 Governing Council meeting.

Candidate filing for Subdistrict 1, representing Hazelwood, Maplewood-Richmond Heights, and Jennings school districts, will re-open on April 3, 2023. Interested candidates can pick up a packet at SSD’s Central Office beginning at 9 AM on April 3. Packets must be submitted no later than  April 28, at 3 PM. The Governing Council will vote to elect the new Subdistrict 1 Board member at their meeting on June 5.

Cuneo, who has served as the President of the Board for the past three years, was elected to Subdistrict 2, representing Affton, Bayless, Hancock Place, and Mehlville school districts. Aside from serving on the Board, he works as a clinical psychologist for the judicial districts of southern Illinois and some federal agencies. 

Asner has served as a Board Director for the last three years and was elected to Subdistrict 7, representing the Clayton and Rockwood school districts. In addition to serving on the Board, he is a child and adolescent psychiatrist with his own medical practice at Mercy Clinic. 

The meeting also included the reorganization of the Board, which occurs after each election. The Board voted to select Katie Pottroff as President and Byers as Vice President for 2023-24. Cuneo has reached the term limit as Board President.

The Governing Council is a 22-member oversight board for SSD, consisting of one Board of Education member from each of St. Louis County’s 22 public school districts. The Governing Council reviews and approves the District’s annual budget; reviews and approves a five-year rolling plan for the District; and interviews and elects the seven members of the SSD Board of Education.