Return to Headlines

SDNEA Awards Mini-Grants, Scholarships at BOE Meeting

May 25, 2023 - Special District National Education Association (SDNEA) presented its annual round of student scholarships and teacher mini-grants at the SSD Board of Education meeting on May 23, 2023. Funding these projects has been part of the organization’s mission for many years and demonstrates its support of extraordinary teaching and learning among SSD’s population.

"SDNEA leadership recognizes the fact that so many teachers put their own money into creating interesting learning opportunities for their students, and we love that we are able to give back in this way," says Tammy McGrellis, SDNEA president. "Also, it is our pleasure to assist students in their future endeavors in whatever way we can help."

Twelve SSD teachers (pictured above) were selected to receive mini-grants, each worth up to $500. Project proposals were required to benefit students but not fit within any budget managed by their principal or coordinator. This year, teachers have been granted funds to cover proposals that include the cost of language and communication aids, supplies for calming rooms/sensory labs, and supplies for a student garden.

Mini-Grants to Teachers

Allison Gill - Litzsinger School

Amanda Howell - Parkway Bellerive Elementary

Amanda Wise - Litzsinger School

Christina Monolo - SSD ECSE, Augmentative Communication

Danielle Cerone-Griffin - SSD ECSE

Ginny Scognamiglio - SSD ECSE, Augmentative Communication

Lisa Finder - Rockwood Kellison Elementary

Madelyn McDonald - Parkway Bellerive Elementary

Molly Raines Evans - Litzsinger School

Monica Sood - Rockwood Kellison Elementary

Bonnie Meyers - Parkway Wren Hollow/Shenandoah Valley Elementary Schools

Cynthia Bodecker-Meyers - Ferguson-Florissant Ferguson Middle School

The SDNEA selected four SSD students for scholarships (pictured below). The students were selected based on the essay they each submitted about goals they wanted to achieve after high school. They were nominated by SDNEA members.


Andres Giardina (Ritenour High School) - St. Louis Community College: General Arts

Terrence Clark (Ritenour High School) - St. Louis Community College: Funeral Service Education

Evelyn Auberry (South Tech High School) - St. Louis Community College: Culinary Arts

Jamaal Hayes (SSD Northview High School) - University of Missouri-St. Louis: Succeed Program