Return to Headlines

SSD Elects Two New Board Members

During a Boar Meeting, Joann Soudah and Dr. Joe Sartorius swear in while standing behind the Board's dias.March 14, 2024 - At the March 4 Governing Council meeting, two new members were elected to the SSD Board of Education, Dr. Joseph Sartorius representing Subdistrict 5 and Ms. Joanne Soudah representing Subdistrict 6. Both were sworn in for their three-year terms during the March 12 Board of Education organizational meeting

Dr. Satorius represents Subdistrict 5, which includes Brentwood, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Valley Park, and Webster Groves school districts. He is a Lindbergh Schools resident and a professor of education in graduate studies at Southwest Baptist University. Before joining academia, Sartorius served as a director of special education services and area coordinator for SSD and as an elementary school principal with Lindbergh Schools. He holds a doctorate in school administration and a specialist degree in administration from St. Louis University. He also holds a master's degree in administration from Southeast Missouri State University and a bachelor's degree in elementary and special education from Southwest Missouri State University. Sartorius has served on multiple boards, including the Missouri Professors of Education Administration, the Governor’s Council on Disabilities, and the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s Special Education Advisory Panel. 

Soudah represents Subdistrict 6, which includes Ladue, Normandy, Ritenour, and University City school districts. She resides in the School District of University City and served as a kindergarten teacher for 29 years before retiring. She holds a master’s in education from Maryville University and a bachelor’s in early childhood education from University of Missouri - St. Louis. Soudah’s commitment to education has led to multiple offices on boards, including three terms as a member of the School District of University City Board of Education, a seat she won in 2015. Soudah also served on Special School District’s Governing Council since 2020. She holds Essential, Advanced, and Master Board certifications from the Missouri School Boards Association and is a member of the Missouri National Education Association.

The meeting also included the reorganization of the Board, which occurs after each election. The Board voted to re-select Katie Pottroff as President and Dr. Daniel Cuneo as Vice President.

The Governing Council is a 22-member oversight board for SSD, consisting of one Board of Education member from each of St. Louis County’s 22 public school districts. The Governing Council reviews and approves the District’s annual budget; reviews and approves a five-year rolling plan for the District; and interviews and elects the seven members of the SSD Board of Education.