Return to Headlines

SDNEA Awards 2022 Scholarships, Mini-Grants

June 27, 2022 - Special District National Education Association (SDNEA)SDNEA Awards 2022 Scholarships, Mini Grants presented its annual round of scholarships to students and mini-grants to teachers in June 2022. Funding these projects has been part of the organization’s mission for many years and demonstrates its support of extraordinary teaching and learning among SSD’s population. 

This year, four SSD students were selected for scholarships that will assist with expenses associated with their post-secondary education. One student will pursue a degree at the Savannah College of Art and Design, while others have declared their intent to study veterinary technology or political science. The scholarships ranged from $500 to $2,000. In previous years, the organization has funded requests to help students attend a camp or program. The students were all nominated by an SDNEA member to be considered for a scholarship. 

  • Paige Campbell, Oakville Senior High School
  • Lael Grant, Hazelwood Central High School
  • Nadia Lucas, North Technical High School
  • Rachel Warner, Lafayette Senior High School

Mini-grants were awarded to 11 SSD teachers whose proposals were for projects that benefited students but were not covered by any budget managed by their principal or coordinator. This year, teachers applied for funds to cover the cost of gardening supplies, classroom library materials, Lego therapy materials, and flexible seating. The amount of each grant was between $250 and $500. The following teachers were awarded funds:

  • Deonnah Ash, Teacher, University City Senior High School
  • Laura Benson, Occupational Therapist, Mehlville School District
  • Victoria Cicotte, Teacher, Ackerman School
  • Elizabeth Cook, Teacher, Normandy Senior High School
  • Sarah Lehrmann, Teacher, Edgar Road School
  • Amber Medley, Teacher, Riverview Central Middle School
  • Lindsay Parker-Klimpel, Speech Language Pathologist, Spoede Elementary
  • Patricia Schmermund, ABA Associate, Parkway School District
  • Holly Slavik, Teacher, Sappington Elementary
  • Melanie Summers, Occupational Therapist, Mehlville School District
  • DeAnna Wright-Coffman, Social Worker, Affton School District

SDNEA President Tammy McGrellis says the organization’s board and membership is committed to supporting student and teacher endeavors, though the past few years have been challenging for everyone in education.

“We hope these scholarships and grants provide some joy to the recipients,” said McGrellis. “We also hope the grants will provide teachers with some recognition of the hard work and creativity that goes into planning engaging learning activities for our students.”

For more information on SDNEA scholarships or mini-grants, contact McGrellis or consult the organization’s website.